Collapse
Who has read this thread:
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Query Self-employment rights

Hi there,

Reading this Freedom of Establishment Regulations briefing - Public Law Project has made me feel physically sick. I am a EU self-employed translator in the UK and the main breadwinner. Will this override the right to self-employment under settled status? I'm so scared.

Thanks in advance.

Originally posted by Lex View Post
    Hi there,

Reading this Freedom of Establishment Regulations briefing - Public Law Project has made me feel physically sick. I am a EU self-employed translator in the UK and the main breadwinner. Will this override the right to self-employment under settled status? I'm so scared.

Thanks in advance.
    I have responded to the same question here: Freedom of Establishment and Free Movement of Services Regulations 2019 - UKCEN Citizenship and Residence for European Nationals and their families

Originally posted by Site Admin View Post
    This legislation merely removes automatic rights granted under EU law, it does not remove anything granted under UK law. For example, non EU nationals are able to run a business and/or be self-employed in the UK if they have the right visa to do so, or if they have ILR, which places no restrictions on activity. Clearly, removing this right from EU and Swiss nationals who also have status here would be discriminatory.

If you look at the text of this document: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2019/9780111188545/pdfs/ukdsiem_9780111188545_en.pdf

...it says:

Why is it being changed?