Collapse
Who has read this thread:
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Continuous residence defintion and weekly cross border commuting

Hi everyone,
    I have a question on the continuous residence requirement for settled status. For much of the last six years I have been commuting weekly to Brussels on Mondays, returning on Thursdays or Fridays, and if I count days abroad I would, including holidays, reach more than 183 days. The last year I have been working mostly from home so I am ok for 2020, and could apply now for pre-settled status, but if I have to start commuting again when lockdowns are lifted, I would risk being again more than 183 days abroad. My concern is that in such a scenario I might never get settled status. My question is whether this definition of residence can be challenged because in no year have I been 183 days in Belgium ( the remaining days of the years were in third countries). So if Belgium applied the same definition as the UK I would be resident nowhere!
    A second question relates to the evidence required. They ask for bankstatements and I can provide these for every month of the last 5 years. Would that then qualify for continuous residence ?
    I would appreciate your views on this, perhaps from comparable experiences.

Louis M (lawyer) Would you be able to comment on the above situation? Would the provision for people who start working in another EU country and return once a week apply here?

I am the Site Manager and Webmaster, please refer to our Admin Team, Roles and Responsibilities. If you think we have helped in any way, please support us so we can keep helping others secure their status, it is now more important than ever now EEA nationals are subject to the same immigration requirements as non EEA nationals and require proof of valid status in the UK.

Comment