Please support us so we can help others

>> CLICK HERE TO START A NEW POST <<

(you need to log in to post)

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Aplying now or waiting until next year for UK Citizenship with no CIS while I was a student

Collapse
X
Collapse
Who has read this thread:
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Success Aplying now or waiting until next year for UK Citizenship with no CIS while I was a student

Hi UKCEN team,

I received Settled Status in Feb 2019. The qualifying period for SS was Jan 2014 - Jan 2019.

I was a part-time masters student between autumn 2012 and autumn 2015, during which I DID NOT have Comprehensive Sickness Insurance at all.

I worked sporadically some very brief jobs (some less than a day) between 2013 and spring of 2015, through the university's jobs for students scheme. The exception was a part-time role (Research Assistant) which I did for a total of aprox. 3 months (12th August 2013 – 3rd November 2013; 12th March 2014 – 30th March 2014; and 28th April 2014 – 1st June 2014).
    I finished my degree in autumn of 2015 and started looking for jobs. I worked for a few days in December 2015 (zero hour contract, catering job). In late Jan 2016 I started working a part-time, zero hour contract job for a company and I did so until March 2017, when I joined a full time position and have had it ever since.

What are my chances of getting citizenship if I apply now? My application is already filled online and I have my references. The recently published guidelines have kept me from paying and submitting my application.
    What are my chances of getting citizenship if I apply in Feb 2021? Same or better? This would have a 5 year qualifying period in which I had steady jobs and would thus not require CIS.

Thanks in advance!

Tim M (lawyer) Would you be able to comment on this?