X
Collapse
Who has read this thread:
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• LAWYER RESPONSE Late payment of poll tax in the early 1990s

Hello everybody and thank you for all your great work.

I'm doing my application for British citizenship and am wondering how to word something that's very hazy in my memory and for which I can find no record in my archives at home. I was a student in 1990-91 and couldn't pay the very unfair community charge briefly introduced by Margaret Thatcher. After a court hearing I didn't attend (there were thousands of people in my situation) I must have received a liability order and paid what was due for that was the end of the matter. I think it should be better to mention it but am a bit at a loss how to explain it. Thank you for your suggestions.

Originally posted by Vero View Post
    Hello everybody and thank you for all your great work.

I'm doing my application for British citizenship and am wondering how to word something that's very hazy in my memory and for which I can find no record in my archives at home. I was a student in 1990-91 and couldn't pay the very unfair community charge briefly introduced by Margaret Thatcher. After a court hearing I didn't attend (there were thousands of people in my situation) I must have received a liability order and paid what was due for that was the end of the matter. I think it should be better to mention it but am a bit at a loss how to explain it. Thank you for your suggestions.
    Bilaal S (lawyer) would it be sufficient to mention this in a cover letter or would you recommend a requesting a Make a subject access request to HMRC - GOV.UK and then also address the late payment in a cover letter? Many thanks for your support with this question.